Reading and Sangria

The other night my mom found me finishing the last 25 pages of “Jane Eyre” and sobbing. After a few awkward moments of trying to console me, wondering how I could read with tears flooding my eyes, then stating how she doesn’t think she wants to read Jane Eyre due to my reaction, she left me in peace to devour the rest of the book.

Oh.Em.Gee. I’m so glad I never had to read Jane Eyre in high school because I’m not sure I would have gotten so much from it. Jane is such a well written character- a woman way ahead of her time. I was surprised at what a feminist Jane is, I mean, the book was first published in 1847. Although never being overzealous with Christianity, she lives her life with integrity. Even as the orphaned, abused, and unloved child- Jane is filled with passion and is vocal on how she feels about things.  

Of course she is the most outspoken with Mr. Rochester. I love the fervent relationship between them.  Jane is so prickly towards him! Oh to spend evenings with sparring banter by the fire with the one you love. I don’t want to say too much about the book in case if you’re the rare case, such as myself, who never had to read it.

Now in the evenings I’m spending my time drinking sangria and reading “The Portrait of Dorian Gray”.  It’s my goal this summer to read more classics, even classics I’ve read before but don’t entirely remember. For example, “Heart of Darkness”. I read this my freshmen year in college when I had mono.  The book made an excellent pillow, and maybe I got some it through osmosis.

I can’t mention sangria without including the recipe. Sangria is fun because it’s easy to prepare, just mix it together in the morning and serve in the evening! Beware, after my dad had one glass he started telling my mom she looked like a Picasso painting. He cannot remember making this statement today.

Chelsea’s Sangria

  • 1 bottle of red wine- I prefer something like a Charles Shaw syrah. Cheap and good!
  • 1 ½ cups of spiced rum
  • ¼ cup of Cointreau- or any sort of citrus liquor
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 orange, cut into thin slices
  • 1 lemon, cut into thin slices
  • 1 peach, cut into wedges
  • ½ bag of frozen raspberries
  • 2 cans of ginger ale
  • Ice

Mix together all of the ingredients in a pitcher- minus the ginger ale and ice. Let the mixture sit in the refrigerator for a few hours to chill. Right before serving, add the ginger ale and ice.

Leave a Reply

