Earth Friendly Cleaners

Spring time is here which means spring cleaning and earth day. What better way to combine both days by doing some eco-friendly cleaning?

 I have recently become obsessed with cleaning the bathroom. Oddly enough, it provides such instant gratification: see soap scum, scrub soap scum, soap scum is gone.  Ahh the joys of the gleaming white counter tops, the extra sparkly silver faucets after they have been wiped down with Windex, and freshly folded bath towels hanging on the rack. I even debated the idea of pouring bleach in my tub with hot water and just letting it soak for a few hours hoping it would reveal the most beautiful bathtub ever. Alas, I have a cat that loves the smell of chemicals, and is a huge fan of licking the walls of the bathtub. Thanks Saffy for ruining my bleach tub dreams.

I am on an ever constant journey to live a more earth friendly lifestyle  (IE: Re-useable grocery bags, not drinking from plastic water bottles, recycled paper products, switching to a car that uses less gas, driving less, etc). Turns out my cleaning products are not earth friendly.  Antibacterial products contain the chemical triclosan, and when that chemical is combined with chlorinated tap water it produces dangerous by-products.  I’ve also heard that by killing all the bacteria this way, a stronger strain of chemical resistant bacteria is created. Chlorine bleach is a poisonous gas that irritates the skin, eyes, lungs, and could possibly contain immune and reproductive system damaging toxins. I could go on about what my habits will do to the water, but mostly I’m just concerned what will happen to mine and my family’s health from breathing in all of these chemicals.

It’s becoming really exhausting to be a good person. The more I read the more I realize things need to change. I don’t want to wear a hemp dress, have hairy legs, and refuse to wear deodorant because that isn’t a fun way to be earth friendly. But I can make small changes in my life, like switching my cleaning products, and hopefully that will make somewhat of a difference. So, I have included some recipes for earth friendly household cleaning products.

Wood Polish

Use olive oil and a few drops of lemon essential oil.

Creamy Soft Scrub

Pour ½ cup of baking soda into a bowl, and mix in liquid detergent until texture is like frosting (Use something like Mrs. Meyer liquid dish soap.) Scoop mixture onto a sponge, and wash surface.

Window Cleaner

  • ½ teaspoon of liquid detergent
  • 3 tablespoons distilled white vinegar
  • 2 cups water

Mix all ingredients together in a spray bottle and it is ready for use.

Gorgeously Green All Purpose Spray*, cuts grease, germs, and grime. Use it on the fridge, countertops, walls, doorknobs, toilet seats, sinks, etc…

  • 32 ounce plastic spray bottle
  • 2 cups water
  • ½ cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon of castile soap (this is soap made from olive oil. The peppermint kind smells really nice)
  • ¾  cup hydrogen peroxide
  • 20 drops of tea tree oil
  • 20 drops of lavender or lemongrass essential oil

Fill the spray bottle with the water. Add the vinegar, castile soap, hydrogen peroxide, tea tree oil, and lavender or essential oil. Lavender is good for a bathroom spray and lemongrass for the kitchen. In the summer, add 10 drops of citronella essential oil to the spray for an added insect repellent. This spray is suitable for acrylic, ceramic tile, wood, marble, and granite.

                                                                                                               ***

  • Tea tree oil is a natural germ killer and can be used for many things, like cleaning, or use it for cuts or as a mouth wash. Buy organic tea tree oil at a health food store or www.mountainroseherbs.com
  • Bon Ami is a great scrubber that doesn’t contain any chlorine, perfume, or dye. www.bonami.com
  • Mrs. Meyers has a bunch of cleaning products that don’t contain any chemicals. www.mrsmeyers.com
  • Ecover has a eco friendly lime scale remover www.ecover.com
  • Clean George Hand Sanitizer is alcohol free, moisturizing, and keeps germs away. www.cleangeorge.com
  • Method products can be found at Targets and Kmarts. All household products are naturally derived. www.methodhome.com

 

*From the book “Gorgeously Green: 8 Simple Steps to an Earth Friendly Life” by Sophie Uliano. Super informative, plus it’s a fun and easy read.

Comments

  1. Thank you! I have been using vinegar and water in a spray bottle for a long time, but I’ve only recently found out that I think I’m using too much vinegar. I’m going to try your recipe with the castile soap included.

    I also love your furniture polish recipe. I have two little dogs, and I would love to clean/shine my wood floors. the olive oil might be the solution I need!

    Thanks!
    PS. I found your site by searching for Sheryl Crow Avocodo Cucumber soup recipe!

  2. Debbie, thanks for reading! If you ever get a chance, you should check out that Gorgeously Green book, she has a lot of great tips and recipes in there.
    Read and love your blog missy! 🙂

    • Chelsea, I just searched for that book in my local library’s system, and found it, so I requested it. Thank you! and thank you for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

